top of page
Early Years Foundation

Early Years Foundation

Early Years Long Term Map

Early Years Learning Outcomes

Our curriculum in the EYFS is focused on learning through play and self-exploration. In the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum the ‘Characteristics of Effective Teaching and Learning’ focus on how children are learning to learn, rather than what they are learning. These are divided into three areas:

  • Playing and Exploring

  • Active Learning

  • Creating and Thinking Critically

The EYFS is made up of seven all important and interconnect areas of learning. There are three prime areas and four specific areas of learning. The three prime areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive in school.

There are four specific areas through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.

None of these areas of learning can be delivered in isolation, they are equally important and depend on each other. All areas are delivered through a balance of adult led and child-initiated activities (we call this ‘own learning’).

bottom of page